Muse: Temples

Can you imagine living in a secular country but with the Muslims as the majority, yet the people continue to preserve its ancient traditions and temples for centuries? Imagine no more: Indonesia is the perfect example.

I can’t remember how long I’ve been drawn to ancient temples and other heritage sites, but my travel itineraries often hover around the existence of those places of worship; be it in my own country or elsewhere in Asia. Today I’m going to show you some of Asia’s breathtaking temples.

angkorwat
Angkor Wat, Cambodia

My arrival in Angkor Wat coincided with Buddhism’s largest religious festival of Vesak Day of 2012. Therefore, the sunrise on that day was filled with synchronous chants of the monks. I couldn’t have been more thankful for such a blissful moment.

borobudur
Borobudur, Indonesia

The next year I decided to return to Borobudur during the Vesak Day celebration. While this one was more hip and cheerful, I couldn’t help but wiped my tears as the monks and their adherents welcomed us with open arms.

Living in Java, I am lucky to reach those tiny-to-giant temples within a 7-9 hour-journey on a train or a 45 minute-flight. Visiting temples has been my muse, and I see no end of the road since every temple grants me such an inspiration that I keep looking forward to the next one.

Below is a gallery of some other places.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

===

Other takes on this week’s photo challenge can be found here.

2 thoughts on “Muse: Temples

Leave a comment