Would You Tip the Owner?

I was at the barber shop this afternoon to have my hair cut. After visiting this shop a couple of times I noticed that the owner often hangs around at the premise although he’s got about half a dozen employees and today was no exception. So I entered the shop and was greeted by the owner himself who then instructed a female employee to wash my hair. After being seated at the chair, he rose up from behind the cashier and performed his job. He only asked a quick question of how I wanted my hair to look like. I simply answered, “Short,” then he nodded and started cutting my hair. It lasted for about 10 minutes. Followed by another washing, then I was done. It only took a total of 20 minutes of my time.

Then came the confusing part. When I go to a barber shop I would always tip the guy/girl who cut my hair. But today the shop owner served me. Should I give him a tip? Share your thoughts, please πŸ™‚

==

Image source: chrisdetrick.com

24 thoughts on “Would You Tip the Owner?

  1. Well, a service is still given.. I believe you still should tip him.. Even as an owner, he still need to know how much you appreciate his work.. Plenty of businesses are run buy the owners, it doesn’t mean they don’t want any tip right.. πŸ˜‰ Just a thought..

    Like

  2. Hmmm…I never realized that we should give the barberman a tip. hihihi. So I had not. Though I’m working at service and hospitality industry, it always awkward me to received a tip. My first tip makes me feel uneasy. So I try to refuse the tip every now and then with these words “Thank You Sir, but this is a part or our service”. Sometimes, the guests are insisting but I keep my words, unless he’s dragging the tip into my hands. There is no way I could give it back. It’s not polite off course. hahaha.

    I don’t know, but I think guests would be more happy if this tip things are being diminished. But, many of my colleagues here, could earn more and live well because of the tip. Just my thought, off course. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hotels have their own policies on tipping, I understand that. But tipping the employees at the salon is the norm, I think. Although I always give less than Rp 10,000.- πŸ˜€

      Like

  3. I think you should give him a tip. Because he gave you service although he has paid by the barber shop owner. By the way, I want to see your new haircut uncle brad. πŸ˜€

    Sorry if my english bad. Coz I can’t write english very well 😦

    Like

    1. you don’t have to feel guilty..When the first time I went to barber shop, I didn’t pay the tip. I only asked to him ” Thanks “. Maybe he felt upset when I asked that word. Because I didn’t know the regulation until my mom give advice to me. πŸ˜€

      Like

  4. Nope, I won’t.
    Reason? Well I’ve told ya in twitter already…
    Anw did u manage to give the owner a tip or… ?
    Ahya screen shoot please.
    No pic of new hair means hoax
    *evil laugh*

    Like

  5. I was wondering what you should do then. Just ask him! Wanna get a tip? Considering the reaction that he would give to you:
    1st. He’ll kick you out!
    Positive effect is: you don’t waste any money at all πŸ˜€ Negative effect: you must be kicked and that would be hurt! πŸ˜€
    2nd. He accept the tip!
    Positive effect: You will be fame as a generous man!
    Negative: say good by to your money. Hohoho…
    It’s just my opinion. Don’t ever trust it because only with imagine that scene, you will get bad luck. Hahaha, kidding.

    Anyway, come and visit my new blog. It’s all about movie. I am counting you πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hahaha, never thought of it that way before. But mind you I live in Indonesia, a country full of excessive courtesies as elsewhere in Asia. Such a blunt question will only be rewarded with a blank look πŸ˜‰

      Like

  6. Hmmm… jarang2 pemiliknya langsung turun tangan untuk menangani pelanggan ya, artinya Om Brad merupakan pelanggannya yang spesial (evilsmirk)

    Nggak mungkin lah kasih tips ke pemiliknya, menurut saya lho hehehe. Tapi kalau tetap mau mengeluarkan tips, ya kasih aja ke tukang parkir *uppps* (kabur sebelum dipentung)

    Like

Leave a Reply

